Shop Fuxing Lu: Tao Yuan Gong She(桃源公社)

_1120236Street side, it may look a little underwhelming. But it’s what’s underneath that will certainly overwhelm. If you are looking for vintage or vintage inspired traditional Chinese pieces for your home, this is definitely worth a try. They have three rooms on the lower level filled to the gills with large and small pieces for home or office. Lamps, desks, tea couches, dressers, bar stools, bird cage lamps. It’s all there and it is fairly reasonably priced, especially for replicas or basic pieces. They also do free delivery, so you won’t have to worry about hauling your treasures home.  The staff speaks only Chinese, so keep that in mind if trying to arrange a complicated purchase.

What did I pick up? Well, I’ve been looking for backless bar stools for months now to give a little extra seating around my kitchen. I didn’t want anything too modern, and I was looking for a very specific height and feel. When I saw these for 450kuai each, I knew we had a deal. Sure, that is significantly more than Ikea but they are handcrafted from real wood and will last.

GO
1220 Fuxing Zhong Lu (near Jiashan Lu)

Leave a comment